Rule change for 2024

Carries or scoop shots are no longer allowed, so these are now faults and lose the rally. In my squash days this was described as an egg and spoon! However, unlike I think every other racket game, double hits are still not faults in pickleball as long as both contacts with the paddle are in the smooth execution of the same stroke and unintentional. I’ve notice that some if not most of us occasionally have double hits. In my case it is usually because I haven’t middled the shot and the ball clips the guard strip. This is almost impossible to do deliberately and doesn’t seem to make any difference to the shot. If it is one continuous stroke – no fault.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *